Home
Tuesday, 15 April 2014 16:21

Progress Reports

Progress Reports for the fourth quarter will be going home Thursday, April 17. 

Monday, 17 March 2014 14:33

Candy Fundraiser Final Turn In

Wednesday, March 19 will be the last day for fundraiser money to be turned in to count toward prizes. After that date outstanding monies will still be owed, but those amounts will not be prize eligible.

Friday, 31 January 2014 13:48

New Cafeteria Check Policy

The cafeteria has a new method by which NSF checks will be handled. Please see the attached memo from our Central Office.

Monday, 20 January 2014 20:00

Middle School Basketball Tournament

January 23 will see the annual Sumner County Middle School Basketball tournament at T.W. Hunter Middle School. 
We encourage all of our students and parents to come out in support of our teams. 

Friday, 13 December 2013 13:06

Winter Break

Winter Break begins December 20. Dismissal will be at 10:45 for all students.
Students will return on January 6.
Have a great break!

Monday, 02 December 2013 20:13

Show your Green Wave Pride!

The Shafer Middle football team is having a spirit wear fundraiser until December 12.

Check out the flyer for more information on this high quality sports apparel.

Monday, 11 November 2013 13:11

Holiday Meal

Our annual Holiday Meal will be Tuesday, November 12. We invite you to join your student for this special meal.

Turkey and Dressing or Baked Ham
Baby Red Mashed Potatoes
Seasoned Green Beans
Sweet Potato Casserole
Fresh Baked Rolls
Mixed Fruit Salad
Iced Brownie or Peach Cobbler
Iced Tea

Student Meal (6th-12th grade): $2.80
Child Meal (5th grade and under): $2.55
Sumner County Employee Meal: $3.85
Adult Meal: $6.60

Friday, 25 October 2013 16:22

Success!

A big thanks to our students and their parents in making our fundraiser such a success. We know you all worked hard to achieve our goal. We appreciate all of you.

Tuesday, 15 October 2013 10:19

Cookie Dough Pickup

Cookie dough from the fundraiser will be available for pick up on Thursday, October 17 from noon to 5 pm. All orders must be picked up on that day as we do not have refrigeration facilities available.

Tuesday, 01 October 2013 18:33

October Newsletter

The October newsletter is going home October 1. It is also available for download.

Monday, 09 September 2013 11:50

Cookie Dough Fundraiser

We are in the midst of our cookie dough fundraiser. Please support our school and our students in this endeavour.

Our turn in date has been bumped to September 19 to better accommodate picture retakes.

Friday, 06 September 2013 11:50

Health Screenings

Free health screenings will be provided at Shafer Middle School on Monday, September 23, 2013. Health screenings are routinely provided for the students of Sumner County Schools in the appropriate grade levels as mandated by the Tennessee Department of Education. These screenings help determine if your child has a health risk that needs medical attention and/or might affect his/her classroom work. Please see the flyer for additional information.

Tuesday, 03 September 2013 21:06

September Newsletter

The September edition of the Shafer Middle newsletter is now available.

Monday, 26 August 2013 15:38

Parent-Teacher Conferences

Parent-Teacher Conferences will be Tuesday, September 3 from 1:00 pm to 7:00 pm. Please call Mrs. Gornicki, our school secretary, at 452-9100 during regular school hours to schedule your appointments.

Thursday, 15 August 2013 14:52

August Newsletter

The August edition of the Shafer Middle newsletter is now available for download.

Wednesday, 07 August 2013 18:14

SMS PTO on Facebook

The Shafer Middle School PTO is proud to announce the creation of our Facebook page. We believe this page will allow for greater communication of PTO events. We also hope you will take this opportunity to join us.

Parents and teachers are encouraged to check out and friend the SMS PTO on Facebook.

Wednesday, 31 July 2013 18:52

SMS PTO Spirit Wear

sms green t-shirt sms hoodie sms polo shirt
Green T-Shirt Hoodie Polo Shirt
sms shorts sms yellow t-shirt
Shorts Yellow T-Shirt

Please return the completed order form with payment to the school. All checks should be made out to Shafer Middle or SMS.

Tuesday, 09 July 2013 12:57

Immunization Requirement

All seventh grade students must have had the Tdap booster and provide verification of varicella immunity to the school. For more in depth information please read the information sheet provided by the Tennessee Department of health.

 

Friday, 05 July 2013 19:14

Summer Reading

Below you will find downloadable copies of the 2013 summer reading lists.

Sixth Grade

Seventh Grade

Eighth Grade